Software Dev Internship Experience/Week 5

Software Dev Internship Experience/Week 5

Background
I'm currently in my 5th week as a dev intern at a SaaS company, Before this I was studying on my own for about 6 months, and then with a dev course provider for another 6 months. I'll be sharing my experience throughout this 10 week internship - writing about what I've learned throughout the journey and what students can expect when entering a dev role.

Unit testing
This week I continued with unit testing but it kind of took a back seat to other tasks I'm doing. Along with that, I've also hit a wall with writing tests in golang, as there's no way to write mock functions for some of the code without changing the existing code itself. I'll probably stop there with the unit tests now and focus on other tasks.

Adding to extractor
Last week I got the task to add code to the extractor process in order to gather more data from the API's we are calling out too. This required mt to create the logic for extracting from the correct data points, and to update the schema for saving the data. In order to do this I had to read the API documentation and also get an understanding of how the extraction process was currently working. Once I had an understanding of everything, I started writing the logic. This was the most enjoyable part for me, putting together pieces of information I knew to extract the data that I need. I think I did pretty well in this task and managed to complete it and make PR. I got some feedback from a senior dev regarding my code which I really appreciated, it gave me information on things I missed and some insight on how to improve my code. Based on this feedback, I made some changes and updated my PR.

Next week
I've been seeing that a lot of the tasks that seem to keep other devs busy is bug fixing. I'm planning in the coming weeks to get more into that and seeing how the process of bug fixing works.

Reflection
I feel like I'm continuing to learn but I also felt a bit stagnant this week due to the unit tests which I wasted a lot of time on trying to find solutions when they really weren't any. I'm gonna continue to branch out and get as much knowledge as I can in different areas. Half of my internship is already over!

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Melvin Narayan by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!